On April 3, 1975 on the auditorium of the Film Library of the Museum of Modern Art of Río de Janeiro, the Abraci association was founded – Associação Brasileira de Cineastas–, with the main goal of creating an entity that would protect and defend film makers’ author’s rights.

The first board of directors, led by Nelson Pereira dos Santos and Leon Hirszman, managed to enter into an agreement with the distributor Embrafilme –Empresa Brasileira de Filmes–, by which 5 % of the income obtained by movie exhibitions would inure to the benefit of the directors.

This agreement was terminated when the government of Fernando Collor dissolved Embrafilme in 1980. However, the ideals of safeguarding audiovisual author’s rights remained intact.

In two occasions, Brazilian directors resumed the discussion of the creation of an Association of Collective Management of Author’s Rights. The first time, it was conducted by Nelson Pereira dos Santos, and the other time, in 2005, it was carried out by a group of associations.

Finally, in 2014, Abraci’s board members resumed the original project due to an invitation to visit DAC –Argentine Cinematographic Directors–, the General Association of Cinematographic and Audiovisual Directors in Buenos Aires, which trained and encouraged them to found DBCA –Diretores Brasileiros de Cinema e do Audiovisual–, the General Association of Brazilian Directors and Authors.

DBCA is born with the democratic vocation of protecting diversity and dignifying the audiovisual director’s profession, as well as with the goal of promoting Brazilian audiovisual arts of the past, the present and the future generations.

In this time of transformation of the production and distribution models of the audiovisual industry, in which cinematographic and audiovisual works are increasingly consumed by different media that come up every day, the union of the Brazilian creators in defense and management of their author’s rights has the main objective of protecting and the preserving life and the audiovisual work.

Founding Partners

  • Antônio Carlos da Fontoura
  • Guilherme de Almeida Prado
  • Helena Solberg
  • José Joffily
  • Marcos Bernstein
  • Maria Tereza (Tetê) P. Moraes
  • Miguel Faria Jr.
  • Murilo Salles
  • Nelson Hoineff
  • Oswaldo Caldeira
  • Ricardo Pinto e Silva
  • Sylvio Back
  • Walter Carvalho


With the strong support of


Latin American Audiovisual Directors Alliance

Societies which provide their support with reciprocal agreements ​to Diretores Brasileiros de Cinema e do Audiovisual


National Theater, Film and Audiovisual Authors Association


General Association of Film and Audiovisual Directors Authors from the Argentine Republic.


Audiovisual Directors Colombian Association


Audiovisual Work Makers,


DAMA (logo) Derechos de Autor de Medios Audiovisuales See support letter

SACD (logo) Société des Auteurs et Compositeurs Dramatiques See support letter

Directors UK (logo) Directors UK
See support letter

ADAL (logo) Alianza de Directores Audiovisuales Latinoamericanos See support letter

DAC (logo) Directores Argentinos Cinematográficos See support letter

Writers and Directors (logo) Writers & Directors Worldwide
See support letter

ATN (logo) Sociedad de Autores Nacionales de Teatro, Cine y Audiovisuales See support letter

Directores México (logo) Directores México
See support letter

SGAE (logo) Sociedad General de Autores y Editores
See support letter

SIAE (logo) Società Italiana degli Autori ed Editori
See support letter